UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN-EAU CLAIRE STUDENT SENATE

BILL: Amending Section 13, Part 4, Subsection 7

NUMBER: 67-B-2 DATE: October 16th, 2023

INTRODUCED BY: Brad Heap, Senate Director, Student Organization Commission

WHEREAS, the Student Organization Commission of the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Student Senate is committed to providing ample opportunities for student engagement; and

WHEREAS, upon the passage of 66-B-13 in the previous session of Student Senate, the SOC
Special Allocation Fund was fully implemented as an official funding process within the scope of the
Student Organization Commission; and

WHEREAS, in order to further clarify the regulations and procedures of the SOC Special
Allocation Fund, the lines, "New and re-activated student organizations may apply for the SOC Special

WHEREAS, in order to further clarify the regulations and procedures of the SOC Special Allocation Fund, the lines, "New and re-activated student organizations may apply for the SOC Special Allocation Fund once every 3 years. Additional decisions and circumstances for student organizations who are able to apply for the fund come down to the discretion of the Student Organization Commission members." will be amended into the Student Organization Commission portion of the Student Senate bylaws; and

WHEREAS, implementing these specific regulations will help keep consistency and fairness within the process, and ensure that it will not be taken advantage of repeatedly by the same student organizations, as well as ensures that as many different organizations on campus as possible are able to take advantage of this opportunity; and

BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED, that outlining the procedures for the SOC Special Allocation Fund will ultimately serve to better the function of the fund and those who use it; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Section 13, Part 4, Subsection 7 of the Student Senate bylaws be permanently adopted to the bylaws for the 67th session of Student Senate, as well as future sessions to come; and

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that upon passage of this bill, President Farmer will transmit a copy to Dr. James Schmidt, Chancellor; Dr. Patricia Kleine, Provost and Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs; Grace Crickette, Vice Chancellor, Finance and Administration; Billy Felz, Vice Chancellor of Enrollment Management; Gregory Heinselman, Interim Dean of Students; Sara Thommesen, Activities, Involvement and Leadership; Evan Weiher, Chair, University Senate; Kirsten Hohweiler, Student Body President, UW Eau Claire-Barron County; Gary Wheeler, Interim Campus Director, UW Eau Claire-Barron County; Tracy Drier, Executive Director of Finance and Administration; Hannah Johnson, Budget Planner; Dennis Boda, Budget Planner.