UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN-EAU CLAIRE STUDENT SENATE RESOLUTION

Notice of the Creation of a new SOS Internship to Oversee the Hydroponics Pilot

WHEREAS, the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire (UW-Eau Claire) Student Senate is the official voice of the student body; and WHEREAS, the Student Office of Sustainability (SOS) is one such commission of said body; and

WHEREAS, the Administrative Office of Sustainability (AOS) has organized the funding and rollout of the hydroponics units thus far; and

WHEREAS, SOS nor Student Senate has made their mark on the project yet; and

WHEREAS, SOS Green Fund expenditures must include student involvement in compliance with UW 820 policy; and

WHEREAS, the AOS has delegated the day-to-day operations to SOS because of their own weighted workload; and

WHEREAS, the facilitation and success of the hydroponics pilot rely on the work delegated to this intern; and

WHEREAS, the environmental, economic, and social benefits of hydroponics align with the priorities of SOS, Student Senate, and the University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire

BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED, SOS has approved usage of \$1400 dollar from the Green Fund on November 9th, 2022, with a 7-0-1 vote to fund this paid internship at 13 dollars an hour for a predicted 90 hours of work across the academic year; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that while expenditures less than \$5,000 are not required to be brought to this body, it has been done so for the purpose of record keeping and legislative transparency amongst the Student Senate body as a whole; and

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that upon passage of this resolution, that upon passage of this bill, President Gaitan will transmit a copy to Dr. James Schmidt, Chancellor; Dr. Patricia Kleine, Provost and Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs; Grace Crickette, Vice Chancellor, Finance and Administration; Billy Felz, Vice Chancellor of Enrollment Management; Brian Drollinger, Director of Risk Management, Safety, and Sustainability; Gregory Heinselman, Dean of Students; Kristin Schumacher, Director, University Centers; MJ Burkhardt, Executive Director of Marketing and Planning, Special Assistant to the Chancellor; Troy Terhark, Director, Facilities; Renee Strehlau, Campus Facilities Planner, Facilities; Associate Director of Facilities; Tracy Drier, Associate Director, Budget and Resource Planning; Quincy Nesgoda, Student Body President, UW-Eau Claire-Barron County; Evan Weiher, Chair, University Senate; Nicole Owen, Chair, University Staff Council; Julia Diggins, Interim President and Interim Executive Director of University Advancement;

AUTHORED BY:

Jake Hicks, Senator