UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN-EAU CLAIRE STUDENT SENATE RESOLUTION

Student Office of Sustainability Fall 2022 Priorities Summary

WHEREAS, the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire (UW-Eau Claire) Student Senate is the official
voice of the student body; and
WHEREAS, the University of Wisconsin Eau Claire is committed to the values "of sustainability and
commitment to preserving and enhancing not only the natural beauty of our campuses, but also our built
environment and the relationships that define the health and equity of our communities and region"
(Strategic Plan 2025); and
WHEREAS, the Student Office of Sustainability is committed to allocating student dollars, in
accordance with UW (University of Wisconsin) System 820 policy, toward sustainable initiatives that
directly benefit our students; and
WHEREAS, the Student Office of Sustainability recognizes sustainability is found at the
intersection of public wellbeing, ecological health, and economic prosperity; and
WHEREAS, section 14, part 6, subsection 1 of the UW-Eau Claire Student Senate bylaws requires
that the Student Office of Sustainability develop and approve a priorities document to be approved both
by the commission and by the Student Senate; and
WHEREAS, the Student Office of Sustainability's General Assembly passed Attachment A with a
vote of 5-0-0 in support of the Student Office of Sustainability Fall 2022 Priorities Summary
BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED, that the University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire Student Senate
supports 16 the Fall 2021 Student Office of Sustainability Priorities Document and adopts it was official
priorities for 17 the Student Office of Sustainability and wider Student Senate; and
BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that upon passage of this resolution, the Student Office of
Sustainability commission works collaboratively with members of the Student Senate and the wider
student body to support these priorities; and
BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that upon passage of this bill, President Gaitan will transmit a copy to Dr. James Schmidt, Chancellor; Dr. Patricia Kleine, Provost and Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs; Grace Crickette, Vice Chancellor, Finance and Administration; Billy Felz, Vice Chancellor of Enrollment Management; Brian Drollinger, Director of Risk Management, Safety, and Sustainability; Gregory Heinselman, Dean of Students; Kristin Schumacher, Director, University Centers; MJ Burkhardt, Executive Director of Marketing and Planning, Special Assistant to the Chancellor; Troy Terhark, Director, Facilities; Renee Strehlau, Campus Facilities Planner, Facilities; Associate Director of Facilities; Tracy Drier, Associate Director, Budget and Resource Planning; Quincy Nesgoda, Student Body President, UW-

- 31 Eau Claire-Barron County; Evan Weiher, Chair, University Senate; Nicole Owen, Chair, University Staff
- 32 Council; Julia Diggins, Interim President and Interim Executive Director of University Advancement;

AUTHORED BY:

Sydney McGuine, Senate Director, Student Office of Sustainability Student Office of Sustainability Commission