## UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN-EAU CLAIRE STUDENT SENATE RESOLUTION

## IN SUPPORT OF THE FALL 2022 LEGISLATIVE PRIORITY SUMMARY

WHEREAS, the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire (UW-Eau Claire) Student Senate is the official voice of the student body; and

WHEREAS, Chapter IV, Section 11, Part 2, Subsection 1 of the UW – Eau Claire Student Senate bylaws requires a Legislative Priority Summary be drafted by the Intergovernmental Affairs Commission and approved by the commission and senate general assembly each semester; and

WHEREAS, of the UW – Eau Claire Student Senate bylaws requires a Legislative Priority Summary be drafted by the Intergovernmental Affairs Commission and approved by the commission and senate general assembly each semester; and

WHEREAS, the summary shall first be approved by the Intergovernmental Affairs Commission through a simple majority by appointed voting members; and

WHEREAS, the summary shall then be introduced and voted on by the senate general assembly at the next possible meeting; and

WHEREAS, the Intergovernmental Affairs Commission approved of this version of the Legislative Priority Summary at its meeting on Tuesday, September 20, 2022, with a unanimous vote of 5-0-0; and

WHEREAS, the next Student Senate meeting following this passage by the commission is September 26, 2022; and

BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED, these policy positions are provided as the Fall 22 Legislative Priority Summary (See Attachment "A"); and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, upon passage of this resolution, directors of commissions that are explicitly stated in the Legislative Priority Summary will work with the Intergovernmental Affairs Commission to ensure that these initiatives are seen to fruition; and

BE IT FUTHER RESOLVED, the UW – Eau Claire Student Senate supports the Fall 2022 Legislative Priority Summary, and adopts this as the official policy priorities for the Intergovernmental Affairs Commission and general assembly; and

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that upon passage of this resolution, President Gaitán will transmit a copy of this bill to Dr. James Schmidt, Chancellor; Greggory Heinselman, Dean of Students; Dr. Patricia Kleine, Provost and Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs; Olga Diaz, Vice Chancellor, Equity, Diversity, Inclusion and Student Affairs; Grace Crickette, Vice Chancellor, Finance and Administration; Billy Felz, Interim Vice Chancellor, Enrollment Management; Evan Weiher, Chair, University Senate; Quincy Nesgoda, Student Body President, UW Eau Claire-Barron County; Gary Wheeler, Interim Campus Director, UW Eau Claire-Barron County

## **AUTHORED BY:**

Hannah Kelly, Intergovernmental Affairs Commission Director Oliver Gibbs, Intergovernmental Affairs Commission Intern Intergovernmental Affairs Commission