UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN-EAU CLAIRE STUDENT SENATE

BILL: Additional Positions to the Student Office of Sustainability Bylaws

NUMBER:	66-B-16	DATE: /	April 10	, 2023
----------------	---------	---------	----------	--------

INTRODUCED BY: Sydney McGuine, Senate Director, Student Office of Sustainability

1 2 3	WHEREAS, the bylaws of the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire (UW-Eau Claire) Student Senate provide specific policy and procedural interpretations of the Student Body Constitution; and
4 5	WHEREAS, the Student Office of Sustainability (SOS) has been working much more closely with the Administrative Office of Sustainability (AOS); and
6 7	WHEREAS, with the new position of Campus Sustainability Specialist much more work can be done regarding sustainability on our campus; and
8 9	WHEREAS, one person cannot do all that work themselves, so the hiring of student coordinators would be helpful; and
10 11	WHEREAS, many other campuses including UW-River Falls also fund students to do similar tasks; and
12 13 14	WHEREAS, these positions would benefit the entire campus with their work as well as the Student Office of Sustainability as they would present their work whenever asked and be included in the required LPS (legislative priority summary) of the SOS; and
15 16	WHEREAS, the new Student Office of Sustainability bylaws, as reflected in attachment A, provide the positions as well as their descriptions along with other minor changes; and
17 18	WHEREAS, the Student Office of Sustainability's General Assembly passed, unanimously on April 5th, 2023, attachment B, in support of the changes in attachment A; and
19 20	BE IT THEREFORE RESOLVED, that upon passage of this bill, the Student Senate of the UW-Eau Claire officially adopt the bylaws reflected in attachment A; and
21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30	BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that upon passage of this bill, President Gaitan will transmit a copy to Dr. James Schmidt, Chancellor; Dr. Patricia Kleine, Provost and Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs; Grace Crickette, Vice Chancellor, Finance and Administration; Billy Felz, Vice Chancellor of Enrollment Management; Brian Drollinger, Director of Risk Management, Safety, and Sustainability; Gregory Heinselman, Dean of Students;; Troy Terhark, Director, Facilities; Renee Strehlau, Campus Facilities Planner, Facilities; Associate Director of Facilities; Tracy Drier, Associate Director, Budget and Resource Planning; Quincy Nesgoda, Student Body President, UW-Eau Claire-Barron County; Evan Weiher, Chair, University Senate; Nicole Owen, Chair, University Staff Council.